Vintage Artisan Our Lady of the Cape Earrings
Sterling Silver Hooks
In 1867 Father Luc Desilets, the pastor at Cap-de-la-Madeleine from 1864 until his death in 1888, had an astonishing experience. Upon investigating a noise he had heard in the church, he found a small pig chewing on a rosary. This was for him a shocking experience. He was saddened by the fact that people were no longer praying the rosary. He remembered the Confraternity of the Holy Rosary that had been established in the parish in 1694. He then consecrated himself to the Blessed Mother and vowed to spread enrolment in the Confraternity of the Holy Rosary wherever his voice could be heard. Soon more and more parishioners started coming to church; eventually the church was too small and a larger church was required. By 1954 the Old Shrine, now considered the most important Marian Shrine in North America by the CCCB, welcomed One Million pilgrims to celebrate the 100th Anniversary of the proclamation of the Dogma of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary.